• October 2020

Community leaders join Chamber Board

  • img
    Kim Burma
  • img
    Tamien Dysart
    Think 3D Solutions
  • img
    Kayla Eitreim
    Junior Achievement of South Dakota
  • img
    Tolcha Mesele
    Smithfield Foods
  • img
    Nathan Stallinga

As directed by the Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce bylaws, each year five individuals are nominated to serve three-year terms on the Board of Directors. A nominating committee is formed to identify and recruit the new board members, who are then reviewed and approved by the current board. The following Chamber members have been elected and began their term of service October 1, 2020:

Kim Burma is a senior advertising account executive with Midco. She has volunteered in a variety of roles with the Chamber in the past, including Chair of the Sports & Recreation Committee and Annual Meeting Event Chair. Other organizations she serves include University of South Dakota, Children's Home Society, Sioux Empire United Way, Sioux Falls Sports Authority, Sioux Falls Cares and SME Sioux Falls.

Tamien Dysart is the co-founder of Think 3D Solutions. He is a member of the Sioux Empire Leadership Council, and in that capacity he recently helped to coordinate The Community Table Talk on Diversity. Dysart also currently serves on the boards of directors for Promising Futures and Sales and Marketing Executives of Sioux Falls.

Kayla Eitreim is the President of Junior Achievement of South Dakota. She is a graduate of Leadership Sioux Falls class 33 and was a founding member of the Young Professionals Network. Her current community leadership activities include Augustana University Alumni Council, Leadership South Dakota Alumni Team, Downtown Sioux Falls Rotary, Sioux52 Mentoring Initiative Steering Committee, SME Sioux Falls and JA USA Pathways Steering Committee.

Tolcha Mesele is the senior manager of community development for Smithfield Foods. He is a member of the Chamber's Foundation board of directors. Mesele also serves on the boards of directors for Sioux Falls Hope Coalition and the Sioux Empire United Way.

Nathan Stallinga is the Executive Director of DakotAbilities. He is a long-time Chamber volunteer, having served on the Diplomat, Ambassador and Issues Management committees in addition to the Chamber Foundation Board. Stallinga is also involved in Sioux Falls Tomorrow, Association of Fundraising Professionals, Sioux Empire United Way and Downtown Sioux Falls Rotary.

The following Board members were also elected to serve one-year terms on the Chamber´s Executive Committee: Chair Dan Doyle, Cutler Law Firm, LLP; Chair-Elect Alex Ramirez, USA Media TV; Vice Chair Paul Hanson, Sanford Health; Treasurer Scott Lawrence, Lawrence & Schiller, Inc.; and Immediate Past Chair Bobbi Thury, Legacy Law Firm P.C. Chamber President & CEO Jeff Griffin is also a member of the Chamber's Executive Committee, serving as its Secretary.

The Chamber's Board of Directors is rounded out by the following members: Miles Beacom, PREMIER Bankcard; Marty DesLauriers, UBS Financial Services, Inc.; Natalie Eisenberg, Click Rain, Inc.; Dave Flicek, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center; Dr. Pam Homan, Augustana University; Chris Houwman, Malloy; Angela Lammers, Cetera Services; Valerie Loudenback, Grand Prairie Foods; and Tony Venhuizen, Office of Governor Kristi Noem.

The following representatives also serve as ex-officio members: Jean Bender, Minnehaha County Commission; Kyle Groos, Bishop O'Gorman Catholic Schools; Derrick Karsky, Farmers Insurance Group-Karsky Agency; Cynthia Mickelson, Sioux Falls School Board; Jay Rasmussen, Journey Group Companies; Jim Schmidt, Lincoln County Commission; Dr. Jane Stavem, Sioux Falls School District; and Mayor Paul TenHaken, City of Sioux Falls.

The following retiring directors will be recognized at the Chamber's 114th Annual Meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 20: Immediate Past Chair Tim Sturdevant, Sturdevant's Auto Parts; Tom Biegler, Regency Hotel Management; Randy Knecht, Journey Group Companies; Karla Santi, Blend Interactive; and Claire Santos, Zoup!/Wingstop.

Thank you to our Chamber News Premium Sponsors

  • img
  • img
  • img
  • img