December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008

JUNE 4, 2018 - VOL. 54 No. 8

Chair's Column
New Members
Member Anniversaries
Cover Story
Other News
Faces & Places
Ribbon Cuttings
Print Advertisers


Our members do more than follow the news. They make the news.

Job promotions and hirings. New projects. New partnerships. Awards. Every day we hear about exciting accomplishments, historic milestones and other positive aspects of our member businesses that deserve to be shared. Faces & Places is great way to use your membership to be seen. This column appears each month in Chamber News and features information about Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce members and volunteers. Submissions may include grand openings, changes in management, moves, expansions, major developments and award recognition.

If your company has a business-related success story or personnel change that you want to share, click here and follow the instructions. We are pleased to note the following news submitted by our members as printed in the latest edition of Chamber News:

Recognition of Chamber Volunteers
New Faces & Promotions
Honors & Awards
Good Deeds


Eric Anderson
Eric Anderson
Wells Fargo Home Mortgage
Cathy Crisp
Cathy Crisp
Sioux Falls Shopping News/Western Commercial Printing
JIll Melchert
Jill Melchert
Farmers Insurance Group-Jill Melchert Agency
Karen Noonan
Karen Noonan
Carriernet Group Financial, Inc.
Julie Nelson
Julie Nelson
Great Western Bank
Duane Noerenberg
Duane Noerenberg
Anderson Group CPA
  Deb Peterson
Deb Peterson
CorTrust Bank

The Ambassador Team of the Month for June was Team Anderson: Eric Anderson, Wells Fargo Home Mortgage; Cathy Crisp, Sioux Falls Shopping News/Western Commercial Printing; and Jill Melchert, Farmers Insurance Group-Jill Melchert Agency.

Karen Noonan, Carriernet Group Financial, Inc., was awarded Diplomat of the Month for June. Second place honors went to Julie Nelson, Great Western Bank, and third place honors went to Duane Noerenberg, Anderson Group CPA. Norenberg was also the recipient of the Ribbon Cutting Attendance Award.  Deb Peterson, CorTrust Bank, won the Retention Award. The Diplomat Team of the Month for June was Captain David Johnson, DAKOTACARE; Janel Cole, Cole Notary; Duane Noerenberg, Anderson Group CPA; Jessica DeNeui, A & B Business Solutions; and Mike Larson, Farm Bureau Financial Services.

Back to Top


Maddie Gutierrez

Maddie Gutierrez is the Public Affairs & Communications Assistant for the Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce. She is a native of Oxnard, Calif., and has a bachelor's degree from University of California-Santa Barbara. Gutierrez spent 22 years working with a large school district in Ventura County, Calif. In June 2011 she moved to Sioux Falls and worked in Sanford Clinic administration prior to joining the Chamber staff.

Jami Gates joined Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Sioux Empire as Executive Director. She is a Sioux Falls native and graduated from the University of Sioux Falls with a degree in business management. Gates has more than 12 years of experience in non-profit management and fundraising.

Credit Collections Bureau named Dave Neil to Collection Associate and Shane Gold to Senior Collection Director.

Nelson Property Consultants is appointed Kelly Ballew as Chief of Operations. Ballew spent more than 11 years at First Premier Bank, most recently as the executive assistant to the Chief Financial Officer. She holds a bachelor's degree in Business Administration with an emphasis in accounting from National American University.

Back to Top


Marco, Inc. received the 2013 Break Away Partner of the Year Award from Cisco. Marco is the only Minnesota-headquartered company to win an award this year. Cisco honored Marco for their commitment to planned and well-executed accelerated growth. Marco was recognized for their investment in several specializations.

Marco Inc. was named one of the Top 100 Workplaces in Minnesota by the Star Tribune and Minnesota Business this summer and also received the 2013 Best Place to Work by the Minneapolis-St. Paul Business Journal.

Sioux Falls Specialty Hospital (SFSH), recently ranked 6th nationally among small size hospitals for patient-centered care, was invited by the Johns Hopkins Medicine Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality to participate in a research study to identify and disseminate best practices for improving patients' hospital experiences. The study is funded by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) and will culminate in a national conference in September. SFSH is being recognized for its patient-centered hospital practices, specifically for Quality Improvement, Infection Control, Surgical Services and Nursing Services.

Jill Melchert, Farmers Insurance Group-Melchert Agency, qualified as a "Championship" Agent by Farmers Insurance for her outstanding overall performance.

Back to Top


The Compass Center, a rape and domestic violence center dedicated to ending the cycle of domestic violence and sexual assault, announced their 2013-14 Board of Directors: Executive Committee: President Melissa Johnson, Oh My Cupcakes!; Vice- President Kurt Brost, Sanford Heath; Treasurer, Karen Waller, Metabank; Secretary, Melissa Williams, Citicorp Trust South Dakota; Past-President, Jennifer Sherman, Morgan Stanley. Other board members include: Barb Kluthe, U.S. Bank; Robin Prunty, Avera Foundation; Cheryl Kappenman, Wells Fargo; Connie Schmidt, Sanford Medical Center; Stephanie Jarovski, First Premier Bank; Jeff Munce, Cigna Corporation; Cassie Blosl, Sanford Health; Brett Waltner, Olson, Waltner & Scharffenberg, LLP; Tony Erickson, Hegg Realtors/Erickson Properties; Karla Ruud, The First National Bank of Sioux Falls; and Crystal Johnson, Minnehaha County State's Attorney Office.

Back to Top


Join the Chamber of Commerce

Members Only Section


Copyright © 2019 Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Service.

  Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce CoSentry